- The Cost at a Glance
- How the Exam Fees Actually Work
- The 24-Hour Course: The Biggest Variable
- Costs That Rarely Make the Brochure
- Renewal Costs Over a Three-Year Cycle
- What a Failed Attempt Does to Your Budget
- Where to Spend Study Time and Money
- Who Pays: Employers, Contractors, and Self-Funders
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NITC lists the initial Medical Gas Maintenance Personnel 6040 exam at USD 130, or USD 190 total when taken at a Prometric center.
- Online recertification costs USD 60, and renewal is due every three years from issuance.
- The required 24-hour ASSE 6050-instructor course is usually the largest expense, and tuition varies by provider.
- The USD 175 group processing fee for 1-9 examinees is not an individual candidate fee.
The Cost at a Glance
Budgeting for the Medical Gas Maintenance Personnel 6040 credential is easier once you separate what the certifier charges from what your training provider charges. The National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC) administers this certification under ASSE Series 6000 Standard 6040, and its published price list covers the examination itself. The instruction course that qualifies you to sit for the exam is priced by whoever delivers it.
Here is the published fee structure drawn from NITC's Certification Examination Price List (Exhibit #23, Rev 03-05-26):
| Item | Published Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Initial certification exam (NITC-approved proctor at instruction site) | USD 130 | Written exam; 100 multiple-choice questions, 2 hours |
| Initial exam at a Prometric Test Center | USD 190 total | USD 130 exam fee plus USD 60 processing |
| Online recertification | USD 60 | 40-question open-book exam after the NFPA 99 update course |
| Group processing, 1-9 examinees | USD 175 | A group arrangement, not a universal individual fee |
| Course tuition and books | Varies by provider | Minimum 24 hours with ASSE 6050 instructor |
Notice what is absent: NITC does not publish a member versus non-member split for this exam. If you see a vendor quoting tiered pricing, ask exactly which fee schedule they are referencing and compare it against the current price list before paying.
How the Exam Fees Actually Work
Proctor at the instruction site versus Prometric
Initial delivery happens one of two ways: through an NITC-approved proctor at your instruction site, or at a Prometric Test Center after your application is approved and payment is received. The difference is USD 60. If your course provider is an approved proctoring location and offers the written exam at the end of the class, the lower USD 130 fee generally applies. The Prometric route makes sense when your schedule, location, or provider arrangement does not allow on-site testing, but it adds the USD 60 processing charge.
The application comes first
Payment is tied to application approval. The Application for Medical Gas Maintenance Certification Examination (Form #720-129) asks you to document the prerequisites before you are cleared to test. That is worth understanding from a cost perspective: if your experience documentation is incomplete, you may lose time, and time costs money when you have already paid for a course and are waiting on a testing slot. For the full eligibility picture, see our guide to Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 requirements.
A note on fee documents
The current fee schedule is the PDF price list referenced above. Third-party sites and older cached pages sometimes show outdated dollar figures or older course-hour language. When in doubt, treat the NITC-issued price list and the current certification details page as the authority, and confirm with NITC before sending payment.
The 24-Hour Course: The Biggest Variable
The Application for Medical Gas Maintenance Certification Examination requires a minimum 24-hour instruction course delivered by an ASSE 6050 instructor, including both a written and a practical examination. This is the cost line with the widest range, because NITC does not set tuition. Community colleges, trade associations, private training companies, and some employers all run these classes at different price points and with different inclusions.
When comparing providers, ask these questions before you commit:
- Does tuition include books and materials? The price list notes that tuition and books vary by provider, so some charge them separately.
- Is the exam fee included? Some providers fold the USD 130 exam fee into a single price; others bill it separately at registration.
- Is the class an approved NITC proctor site? This determines whether you can take the written exam on site for USD 130 instead of paying the USD 190 Prometric total.
- What does the practical assessment involve? The practical examination is part of the course and is separate from the 2-hour written exam timer. Its duration is not published, so ask the provider how it is run.
- Does the course reflect NFPA 99-2024? The current NITC documents reference the 2024 edition. Older course listings may reference earlier editions or older hour requirements that are no longer current policy.
For a closer look at what these classes cover and how to evaluate them, see our overview of Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 training.
Key Takeaway
Get an itemized quote from every course provider that separates tuition, books, the exam fee, and any processing charge. Two classes with the same headline price can differ by USD 60 or more once the testing route is factored in.
Costs That Rarely Make the Brochure
Experience verification
Form #720-129 asks for one year of documented medical-gas maintenance experience, with experience documents and employer verification phone numbers. NITC does not specify a degree requirement, a fixed number of references, or an hours-equivalent for that year. The practical cost here is not a fee but effort: tracking down supervisors, gathering records, and making sure your employer or contracting facility can confirm your work. Candidates must also work for or contract with a healthcare facility, or otherwise be actively engaged with medical gas systems.
Time away from work
Twenty-four hours of instruction typically means several days out of your regular schedule. For hourly workers and independent contractors, lost billable time can exceed the tuition itself. Employer-sponsored attendance changes this math significantly, which is covered below.
Travel and lodging
Depending on where approved instructors teach, you may travel for the course. Prometric Test Centers add a second potential trip if you test there rather than on site. These expenses are entirely candidate-specific and not published by NITC, so build them into your own estimate rather than relying on a generic figure.
Study materials beyond the course
The exam draws on ASSE Series 6000 and NFPA 99 Health Care Facilities Code, 2024 Edition. Your course materials cover the essentials, but many candidates add practice questions for repetition. Budget for practice testing separately, and use our Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 practice tests to find your weak domains before exam day.
Renewal Costs Over a Three-Year Cycle
The certification is valid for three years from issuance, so your true cost of ownership includes renewal. Renewal has two parts: a minimum four-hour NFPA 99 update course taught by an ASSE 6050 instructor, then a 40-question open-book exam with a four-hour limit and an 80% passing standard (32 correct). The online recertification fee is USD 60. Course tuition for the four-hour update varies by provider, just like the initial class.
NITC's FAQ (Exhibit #27) identifies 6040 recertification as unproctored, which is why it can be completed online. That exception applies to renewal only; it does not extend to initial certification.
| Cost Component | Initial Certification | Renewal |
|---|---|---|
| Instruction course | Minimum 24 hours, ASSE 6050 instructor | Minimum 4-hour NFPA 99 update, ASSE 6050 instructor |
| Exam fee | USD 130 (USD 190 via Prometric) | USD 60 online recertification |
| Exam format | 100 questions, 2 hours, closed book, 75% to pass | 40 questions, 4 hours, open book, 80% to pass |
| Validity | 3 years from issuance | 3 years from issuance |
The cost of letting it lapse
Renewal remains available up to one year after expiry, with a 21-day processing allowance. But the certification is invalid during the expired period, which can create real problems if your job or your facility's contract requires an active credential. After that one-year window closes, you must take the initial exam again, which means paying for the course and exam all over again. A lapse is one of the most avoidable expenses in this certification's lifecycle.
What a Failed Attempt Does to Your Budget
The initial exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in two hours, closed book, with a 75% passing standard, meaning 75 correct answers. Electronic devices and closed-book reference materials or notes are prohibited. NITC does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and an exact pass rate for this specific certification is not publicly disclosed, so treat any pass-rate figure you see circulating with caution. Our pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said from available data, and our passing score guide breaks down the 75-correct threshold.
Results are delivered immediately, and you receive an emailed objective-level report. That report is useful: it tells you which content areas cost you points. A failed attempt means paying exam fees again at minimum, and possibly additional course time depending on provider policy and how much time has passed. The cheapest retake is the one you never need, which is the strongest financial argument for preparing thoroughly the first time. For a realistic read on difficulty, see how hard the Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 exam is.
Where to Spend Study Time and Money
NITC publishes six content areas with weights that total 100%. Smart preparation allocates effort in proportion to those weights. Here is how the domains break down and what each one asks of you:
Testing System and System Components (22%)
The heaviest domain. Expect questions on how medical gas systems are tested and what the components under test do.
- Test procedures and the purpose of each stage
- Components in a medical gas system and how they function
Product Performance Knowledge (20%)
Understanding how the products installed in medical gas systems are expected to perform.
- Performance expectations under ASSE Series 6000
- How component behavior affects system operation
General Medical Gas Knowledge (18%)
Broad foundational knowledge across medical gas systems in healthcare settings.
- Core concepts that tie the other domains together
- NFPA 99-2024 context for health care facilities
Conducting, Documenting, and Recording Inspections and Tests (17%)
Maintenance personnel are responsible for what they record, not just what they do.
- Proper documentation of inspection and test results
- Record-keeping expectations for maintenance work
Product Installation Knowledge (14%)
How products are correctly installed, which informs what you inspect and maintain.
- Installation practices that affect long-term performance
Definitions (9%)
The smallest domain, but vocabulary precision supports every other section.
- Standard terminology used in ASSE 6000 and NFPA 99
Note that Testing System and System Components is the largest domain at 22%. Some older indexed sources show a 22% figure for the first-listed category, but the current NITC bulletin lists Product Performance Knowledge at 20%, and that is the figure to trust. The full domain breakdown is in our exam domains guide.
A domain-weighted sequence
If you have a few weeks between your course and your test date, sequence your review by weight and by dependency:
Definitions and General Medical Gas Knowledge
- Lock down terminology first, since every other domain depends on it
- Review core system concepts from your course materials
Product Performance and Installation
- Pair these two domains, since installation and performance questions overlap
- Work practice questions and log every miss
Testing System and Components, plus Documentation
- Spend the most time here: 22% plus 17% is 39% of the exam
- Do a full timed 100-question run to test your pacing against the 2-hour limit
For a complete preparation plan, our study guide goes deeper, and the cheat sheet condenses must-know facts for a final review.
Who Pays: Employers, Contractors, and Self-Funders
Because candidates must be employed by or contracted with a healthcare facility, or otherwise actively engaged with medical gas systems, many people pursuing this credential have an employer with a direct interest in their certification. Facilities that maintain medical gas systems benefit from having certified personnel on staff, so it is reasonable to ask whether your employer will cover tuition, the exam fee, or paid time for the course. Cost responsibility varies by employer, and NITC does not publish any employer-reimbursement policy, so this is a conversation to have internally.
Independent contractors and people moving into this specialty from related trades usually self-fund. For them, the return question matters more. Credentialed personnel are positioned for roles maintaining medical gas systems in hospitals and other healthcare facilities, and you can explore the hiring landscape in our jobs overview. To weigh the investment against earning potential without relying on invented numbers, read our ROI analysis and salary guide.
Key Takeaway
Before paying out of pocket, ask your employer or the facility you contract with about sponsorship. Even partial coverage of tuition or paid course time can shift the cost of this credential substantially, since the NITC fees themselves are modest compared with course tuition and lost work time.
Frequently Asked Questions
According to NITC's price list, the initial exam is USD 130 when proctored at an approved instruction site and USD 190 total at a Prometric Test Center (USD 130 plus a USD 60 processing fee). Course tuition and books are separate and vary by provider.
Online recertification is USD 60. You must also complete a minimum four-hour NFPA 99 update course taught by an ASSE 6050 instructor, whose tuition varies by provider, and then pass a 40-question open-book exam with 80% required (32 correct).
No. The USD 175 figure is group processing for 1-9 examinees and is not a universal individual fee. Individual candidates should rely on the USD 130 and USD 190 exam fee structure unless a training provider explains how it bundles group processing into their pricing.
NITC does not publish a member versus non-member split for this exam in its current price list. If a provider advertises tiered pricing, verify it against the official fee schedule before you pay.
You can still renew for up to one year after expiry, with a 21-day processing allowance, but the certification is invalid during the expired period. After that window, you must take the initial exam again, which means repeating the course and paying the initial exam fee.
Planning your budget around the published NITC fees, a realistic tuition quote, and your three-year renewal cycle gives you a complete picture of what this credential costs. If you are still confirming the basics, our pages on what the certification is and the exam dates and scheduling are good next steps, and you can start building exam-day confidence with a Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 practice test.