Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 Certification

TL;DR
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours, closed book, with a 75% (75 correct) passing standard.
  • Testing System and System Components carries the largest weight at 22%; Definitions is smallest at 9%.
  • Eligibility includes a minimum 24-hour ASSE 6050-instructor course and one year of documented medical gas maintenance experience.
  • Initial exam fee is USD 130; testing at Prometric totals USD 190 including the USD 60 processing charge.

What This Credential Actually Is

Medical Gas Maintenance Personnel 6040 is a certification issued by the National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC) under the ASSE Series 6000 standard 6040. It is aimed at the people who keep an existing medical gas and vacuum system in working order: the technicians, facilities staff, and contractors who inspect, test, document, and maintain the piping, alarms, outlets, and source equipment that deliver oxygen, medical air, vacuum, and related services to patient care areas.

That focus matters. This is a maintenance-oriented credential, not an installer or verifier credential, so the exam leans toward understanding how a system is supposed to perform, how to test it, and how to record what you find. If you are still sorting out the terminology, the explainers on what Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 is and what the 6040 designation stands for cover the naming in more detail.

NITC remains the certifier. The exam objectives are drawn from the NITC Candidate Information Bulletin for Certification Examinations (Section VI), and the content references the ASSE Series 6000 standards and the NFPA 99 Health Care Facilities Code, 2024 Edition. The edition matters: older materials circulating online may cite different course-hour or code-edition wording, and those are not current policy.

Verify against the issuer, not old PDFs: Course-hour requirements and the NFPA 99 edition have changed across document revisions. The current NITC certification page, application form, and bulletin agree on a 24-hour course and the 2024 edition. When a third-party summary disagrees, trust the current issuer documents.

Eligibility and the Application Packet

Unlike many entry-level certifications, you cannot simply register and sit the test. NITC requires an application (Form #720-129) that documents both training and experience before you are approved to test. The full breakdown lives in the Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 requirements guide; here are the essentials.

What the application requires

  • Training: a minimum 24-hour course taught by an ASSE 6050 instructor, including written and practical examinations.
  • Experience: one year of documented medical gas maintenance experience.
  • Workplace connection: the candidate must work for or contract with a healthcare facility, or be actively engaged with medical gas systems.
  • Verification: experience documents and employer verification phone numbers must be supplied.

The application does not specify a degree requirement, a fixed number of references, or an hours-equivalent for the experience year. Because those details are unspecified, avoid assuming a number from another certification. If your experience history is unusual, such as contract work across multiple facilities, assemble clean documentation and confirm with NITC before paying for a course.

The practical examination is separate

The 24-hour course includes its own written and practical examinations. That practical assessment is part of the training program and is distinct from the NITC certification written exam described below. Its duration is not published, so ask your course provider how it is run. The certification exam itself is written only. For help choosing and preparing for a course, see the Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 training overview.

Exam Format and Scoring Mechanics

The initial written exam is straightforward in structure, which is part of why the content, not the format, is what makes it demanding.

FeatureInitial Certification ExamRenewal Exam
Questions100 multiple choice40 questions
Time limit2 hours4 hours
Reference materialsClosed bookOpen book
Passing standard75% (75 correct)80% (32 correct)
ProctoringNITC-approved proctor or PrometricUnproctored for 6040 recertification

A few details candidates often ask about:

  • Scored versus unscored items: NITC does not disclose whether any of the 100 questions are unscored, so plan as though every item counts.
  • Prohibited items: electronic devices and closed-book reference materials or notes are not permitted during the initial exam.
  • Calculator use: permission is not verified in the published materials, so confirm with your proctor or Prometric before exam day rather than assuming.
  • Results: you receive an immediate result, and an emailed objective-level report shows how you performed by content area, which is useful if you need to retake.
  • Pass rate: NITC does not publicly disclose a pass rate for this specific certification. The pass rate discussion explains what can and cannot be said about it.

The 75-correct threshold is explored further in the passing score guide, and the question of how demanding that standard feels in practice is covered in how hard the exam is.

The renewal exception: The open-book, unproctored format applies only to 6040 recertification. Your initial certification exam is closed book and proctored. Do not let renewal-format stories from colleagues shape how you prepare for the first attempt.

The Six Content Domains

The published objectives divide the exam into six weighted domains totaling 100%. The weights tell you where the points are, but remember that a 9% domain is still roughly nine questions on a 100-question exam, and those are often the most straightforward points to secure. A deeper walk-through appears in the complete exam domains guide.

DomainWeight
Testing System and System Components22%
Product performance knowledge20%
General medical gas knowledge18%
Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests17%
Product installation knowledge14%
Definitions9%

Testing System and System Components (22%)

The heaviest domain and the center of a maintenance role. Expect questions on how the system and its components are tested, what the tests are meant to demonstrate, and how components such as alarms, valves, outlets, and source equipment are checked.

  • Know the purpose of each test, not just the sequence of steps.
  • Be able to connect a test to the component or system condition it verifies.
  • Practice reading scenario questions where a test result points to a specific problem.

Product performance knowledge (20%)

This domain covers how medical gas system products and components are expected to perform. Questions test whether you understand what a component must do and what acceptable performance looks like in service.

  • Learn the performance expectations for components you handle on the job.
  • Connect performance requirements to the ASSE Series 6000 standards that govern them.

General medical gas knowledge (18%)

Foundational knowledge of medical gas and vacuum systems and the environments they serve. This is where NFPA 99 context and basic system concepts show up.

  • Review the structure of the healthcare facilities code and how it frames medical gas systems.
  • Be comfortable with the general roles of the major system elements.

Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests (17%)

A maintenance credential lives or dies on records. This domain tests what must be inspected, how tests are conducted, and what must be documented and retained.

  • Understand what a complete test record contains and why.
  • Expect procedure-and-paperwork questions, not only hands-on knowledge.

Product installation knowledge (14%)

Even for maintenance personnel, installation knowledge matters because you evaluate and maintain what was installed. Questions address how products and components are properly installed.

  • Know installation requirements well enough to recognize when something is wrong.
  • Link installation practices to the testing and inspection work that follows.

Definitions (9%)

The smallest domain, but also the most learnable. Precise terminology from the standards is tested directly.

  • Build a glossary from the ASSE Series 6000 and NFPA 99 terms you encounter.
  • Definitions also support your accuracy in every other domain.

Fees and Delivery Options

Fees below come from the NITC Certification Examination Price List. For the full picture including course tuition, see the certification cost breakdown.

ItemAmount
Initial examinationUSD 130
Initial exam via Prometric (130 + 60 processing)USD 190 total
Online recertificationUSD 60

No member versus non-member price split is published. A group processing fee of USD 175 for one to nine examinees exists, but it is a group arrangement and should not be mistaken for a standard individual fee. Tuition and books for the required course vary by training provider and are separate from NITC's exam fees.

After your application is approved and payment is made, you test either with an NITC-approved proctor at the instruction site or at a Prometric Test Center. Remote at-home delivery for the initial exam is not verified in the published materials, so plan on an in-person setting. Scheduling specifics are covered in the exam dates and scheduling guide.

Who Hires Certified Maintenance Personnel

Because eligibility requires a link to a healthcare facility or active work with medical gas systems, the credential naturally fits a few employer types:

  • Hospitals and health systems: facilities and engineering departments responsible for in-house medical gas and vacuum systems.
  • Other healthcare facilities: surgery centers, long-term care, and clinics with piped gas or vacuum service.
  • Mechanical and medical gas contractors: firms that service healthcare facilities under contract, which the application recognizes as an eligible work connection.
  • Equipment and service providers: companies whose staff work directly with medical gas systems.

The credential demonstrates documented competence in testing and recordkeeping, which is valuable to facilities that face accreditation and code-compliance scrutiny. For a look at specific roles, read about jobs that use the 6040 credential. Compensation depends heavily on region, employer, and responsibilities, and this article does not quote figures; the salary guide and the worth-it analysis treat that question in depth.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

You will already have 24 hours of instruction behind you, so the goal of exam prep is consolidation and gap-finding, not first exposure. Because the exam is closed book, everything must live in memory. A domain-ordered plan, built around the weights, works well. For a longer treatment, see the study guide.

Week 1

Definitions and General Medical Gas Knowledge

  • Build your glossary first; terminology supports every later domain.
  • Review NFPA 99 structure and basic system concepts.
Week 2

Product Performance and Installation

  • Study what components must do and how they are properly installed.
  • Tie installation requirements to what you would later inspect.
Week 3

Testing System and System Components

  • Give the 22% domain the most time and repetition.
  • Work scenario questions linking test results to causes.
Week 4

Inspection Documentation, Then Full Practice

  • Review what a complete test record contains.
  • Take timed 100-question sets, then use weak-area results to revisit domains.

Place testing early enough that you can revisit it twice, since it is the largest domain and the one most tied to real maintenance judgment. Finish with timed practice so the two-hour pace feels routine; you can drill with the Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 practice tests. A one-page memory aid is available in the cheat sheet.

Key Takeaway

Use your emailed objective-level report if you do not pass on the first attempt. It shows performance by content area, so your retake preparation can concentrate on the specific domains where you lost points instead of re-studying everything.

Validity, Renewal, and the Lapse Window

Certification is valid for three years from issuance. Renewal is a lighter process than the initial exam, but the details matter, especially around timing.

  • Renewal requirements: a minimum four-hour NFPA 99 update course taught by an ASSE 6050 instructor, plus a 40-question open-book exam with a four-hour limit and an 80% (32 correct) passing standard.
  • Credit tracking: no separate numeric CEU, CDU, or CPE total beyond the course hours is published.
  • Online recertification fee: USD 60.
  • Grace window: the renewal route remains available for up to one year after expiry, with a 21-day processing allowance.
  • Important caveat: your certification is invalid while expired. After that one-year window, you must take the initial exam again.

The practical lesson: start your renewal well before the expiry date. Treating the post-expiry year as a safety net can leave you holding an invalid credential during a period when an employer or inspector may ask for proof.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who issues the Medical Gas Maintenance Personnel 6040 certification?

The National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC) issues it under ASSE Series 6000 standard 6040. NITC remains the certifier, and the exam content references ASSE Series 6000 and the NFPA 99 Health Care Facilities Code, 2024 Edition.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

The initial exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a 2-hour limit, and is closed book. You need 75% to pass, which means 75 correct answers. NITC does not disclose how many items, if any, are unscored.

What must I complete before I can sit for the exam?

You need a minimum 24-hour course from an ASSE 6050 instructor, including written and practical examinations, plus one year of documented medical gas maintenance experience. You must also work for or contract with a healthcare facility, or be actively engaged with medical gas systems, and submit employer verification.

How much does the initial exam cost?

The initial examination fee is USD 130. If you test at a Prometric Test Center, the total is USD 190 (the USD 130 fee plus a USD 60 processing charge). Course tuition and books are separate and vary by provider.

How long does the certification last, and what happens if it expires?

It is valid for three years from issuance. Renewal requires a four-hour NFPA 99 update course and a 40-question open-book exam at 80%. You can renew for up to one year after expiry, but the certification is invalid during that time, and after the window you must retake the initial exam.

For a broader orientation to the credential, you can also read the overview of what the 6040 certification involves, and when you are ready to test your recall under timed conditions, visit the Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 Exam Prep practice site.

Ready to pass your Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 exam?

Put this into practice with free Medical Gas Maintenance 6040 questions across every exam domain.